About Me

College Park, Maryland, United States
I Broadcast Maryland Women's Lacrosse for WMUCSports.com during the Spring. I hope to provide everyone with quality information on the Terps and post game analysis.

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Official 2010 Tewaaraton Award Nominees

The Greater Washington Sports Alliance has announced the top remaining candidates for Lacrosse's most prestigious award...the Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men’s and women’s lacrosse player of the year.

Nominees for the sport's top honor are screened and selected by two Selection Committees. The Selection Committees are comprised of collegiate coaches, one committee for the men and one committee for the women.

Maryland has multiple players from its lacrosse program, both on the men's side and the women's side [who are ranked #3 in the country behind Northwestern and ACC rival, UNC]. Coach Cathy Reese has done an incredible job leading the Lady terps and is now just 1-win away from getting her 100th win at the program...in just 4 years.

From Cottle's Crew:
Grant Catalino, University of Maryland – Junior (Attack), Webster, NY

Brian Farrell, University of Maryland – Junior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD

There are 9 other players from the ACC on the list for Men's Lacrosse.

From Reese's Side:
Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland – Sophomore (Attack), Annapolis, MD

Caitlin McFadden, University of Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Phoenix, MD

Karissa Taylor, University of Maryland – Senior (Defense), Easton, MD

Congratulations to the 5 Terrapins who were named official nominees for the award. Only 10 players from the list of roughly 50 will be selected as finalists - 5 men and 5 women.

Remember to listen live to all the action this Saturday as Maryland tries to beat Hopkins at 6:30pm, on wmucsports.com. Go Terps!

No comments:

Post a Comment